Fellowships, Internships and Awards

Awards and Announcements

Society for Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry (SETAC), Rachael Carson Award Nominations Now Accepted

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2016 SETAC Rachael Carson Award. This prestigious award is only given every four years. The application deadline has been extended to August 28 and the award will be presented during the 7th SETAC World Congress/SETAC North America 37th Annual Meeting in Orlando, Florida in 2016.  For more information, click here.



Santa Fe Institute Omidyar Fellowship

Applications are now being accepted for the Santa Fe Institute's Omidyar Fellowship. This highly selective interdisciplinary postdoctoral fellowship offers talented early-career scientists an extraordinary level of freedom and autonomy, a competitive salary, discretionary research and travel funds, professional development, and an opportunity to collaborate with some of the leading minds in science. For more information, click here. Accepting Applications from August 10-November 1, 2015.

The Dr. Fritz L. Knopf Doctoral Fellowship in Avian Conservation at Oklahoma State University

A PhD fellowship in the Department of Natural Resource Ecology and Management at Oklahoma State University is available as part of the Dr. Fritz L. Knopf Doctoral Fellowship Program in Avian Conservation. This position will focus on large-scale conservation issues for bird populations and communities in the Great Plains region. The PhD Fellow will bring together diverse existing data sets to answer conservation-relevant questions related to factors that operate at landscape, regional, and/or national scales (e.g., land use practices, climate change, energy development, disturbance regimes) and that inform development and implementation of a multi-stakeholder, landscape-level conservation cooperative that achieves conservation objectives at broad scales. For more information, click here. Apply by September 30, 2015.

Clean Water Fellow, Izaak Walton League of America, Inc.

Izaak Walton League of America, Inc. seeks a Clean Water Fellowship for a temporary position of up to two years and is designed to provide applied experience in environmental education to a candidate with an undergraduate degree who is planning to pursue graduate studies in environmental education, natural resources conservation or a similar field. For more information, click here.

Graduate Opportunities

Watershed and Aquatic Ecosystem Ecology – University of New Hampshire

The Department of Natural Resources and Environment and the Institute for the Study of Earth, Ocean and Space at the University of New Hampshire seek a highly motivated graduate student (Masters or PhD level) to conduct research on how various human activities impact water quality and how aquatic ecosystems help maintain water quality. They seek individuals interested in understanding: 1) how watersheds influence coastal estuaries, 2) the variability of water quality in streams and rivers over space and time, 3) controls of water quality during storm fluxes using novel in situ aquatic nutrient sensors, 4) biogeochemical dynamics influencing water quality. Must be self-motivated, curious, quantitatively oriented, and a good writer.

Qualifications: The candidate must have at least a B.S. (M.S. if entering the PhD program) in environmental science, ecology, aquatic science, hydrology, geography or closely related field.  The preferred candidate will have experience with GIS and a strong quantitative background.

Start Date:  Preferably January 2016, but start date is negotiable.

To Apply:  Send a letter of interest including statement of goals and research interests; a resume or curriculum vitae; and contact information for three references (electronic versions of all materials are required) to the e-mail below.  Please attach all materials as word documents or PDFs with the candidates name included in the file name. Review of potential applicants will begin immediately and prospective candidates encouraged to apply to the appropriate UNH graduate programs (for a Masters of Science); for a PhD.

For more information concerning this position, please contact Dr. Wilfred Wollheim; ; Subject: Water_GradOpportunity.  The Wollheim lab is part of the Water Systems Analysis Group, and includes a dynamic group of students, post docs, and research scientists. 

The University of New Hampshire, located in Durham, New Hampshire, thrives in a diverse, dynamic, and beautiful part of New England. Durham, only an hour from Boston, is also conveniently close to the Atlantic Ocean, as well as New Hampshire’s rugged White Mountains and pristine Lakes Region.

M.S. Position in Coastal Sciences at the University of Southern Mississippi

A graduate position at the MS level are available in the Department of Coastal Sciences, The University of Southern Mississippi, supported by the NAS Gulf Research Program. The new graduate student is expected to start in spring semester of 2016, and will conduct research on evaluating ecosystem services under conflicting decisions in ecosystem restoration and economic development in the northern Gulf of Mexico region. Applicants should have a BS in ecology, statistics, or a closely related field. Experiences in Bayesian statistics, modeling, GIS/Remote Sensing are desirable. 

Interested candidates should send an email describing their past experiences and their motivation for pursuing a graduate degree, along with a resume, unofficial college transcripts, GRE scores, and the names and contact information for 3 references to Dr. Wei Wu (), Associate Professor, Department of Coastal Sciences, Ocean Springs, MS 39564. Review of applications will begin immediately and continue until the position is filled.