Future Natural Floodplain Functions Alliance (NFFA) Webinars/Conference Calls Schedule

The Natural Floodplain Functions Alliance (NFFA) is an affiliation of nonprofit and private organizations, government agencies and individuals dedicated to the protection and preservation of the natural functions of floodplains, including coastal areas. For a copy of the Natural Floodplain Functions Alliance mission statement, goals and objectives click here.

If you haven’t used Go To Webinar before or you just need a refresher, please view our guide prior to the webinar here.

The Natural Floodplain Functions Alliance (NFFA) is busy working on confirmation of webinar topics and presenters for 2017.

NFFA will host bimonthly events that combine a conference call format with a webinar presentation (typically the 1st Tuesday of the month at 3pm ET).

 
Tuesday, February 21, 2017 - 3:00 p.m.ET
 
We invite you to join us for our next webinar/conference call on Tuesday, February 21st at 3:00 p.m. eastern, 2:00 p.m. central, 1:00 p.m. mountain, 12:00 p.m. pacific, 11:00 a.m. Alaska, and 10:00 a.m. Hawaii time. This presentation will begin with a 10 minute federal update about the Clean Water Act Section 404 2017 nationwide permits final rule which will go into effect March, 19, 2017. There will be a 5 minute Q&A period following this update. Then we will follow the update with our featured webinar presentation on “The Value of Nature: Practical Applications for Managers” by Elizabeth Schuster, an environmental economist with The Nature Conservancy. Information about the presentation can be found below.
 
The Value of Nature: Practical Applications for Managers

Abstract

Coastal and freshwater systems – especially floodplains and wetlands - provide tangible economic value to communities, yet managers often do not incorporate the value of nature into decision making. This presentation has three components: 1) An overview of The Nature Conservancy (TNC) and partners’ guidebook, A guide for incorporating ecosystem service valuation into coastal restoration projects, 2) Practical examples of ecosystem service valuation from the field, 3) An introduction to the ESII tool to assess the value of nature in decision making, developed through a collaboration between TNC and Dow Chemical Company.

Presenter
 
Elizabeth Schuster, Environmental Economist, The Nature Conservancy
 
Bio

Elizabeth Schuster joined The Nature Conservancy in 2013 as an environmental economist and supports the marine and freshwater programs as well as collaborating with community economic development partners across the state of New Jersey. She also has experience in conservation and business management in both the private and nonprofit sectors. Since 1998, she has been working in project design and implementation with a focus on natural resource management and water resources in the United States and internationally.
 
This webinar has been preapproved for 1 CEC for CFMs who participate individually in the entire event by the Association of State Floodplain Managers.
 

 
For more information, please contact Jeanne Christie at .


[Return to top]

[Past Webinars]