Future Wetland Mapping Consortium Webinar Schedule

The WMC Steering Committee organizes bi-monthly webinars on topics of interest to the group. These webinars are held on the third Wednesday of every month at 3:00 p.m. eastern standard time (2:00 p.m. central, 1:00 p.m. mountain and 12:00 p.m. pacific). 

If you haven’t used Go To Webinar before or you just need a refresher, please view our guide prior to the webinar here.  

The Wetland Mapping Consortium is busy working on confirmation of webinar topics and presenters for 2016. Below you will find a draft list of future webinars to give you an idea of what we’re working on. Topics and dates are subject to change. 

 


NWI Unfinished Business: The Current State of Wetland Mapping in Alaska

Wednesday, February 12, 2020 - 3:00pm-4:00pm Eastern

Register Here

INTRODUCTION

  • William Dooley, Policy Analyst, Association of State Wetland Managers 

PRESENTERS

  • Sydney Thielke, Regional Wetlands Coordinator, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Alaska Region
  • Andy Robertson, Director, GeoSpatial Services, Saint Mary's University of Minnesota

ABSTRACT

Alaska is one-fifth the size of the entire United States and is the only state with land area north of the Arctic Circle. Approximately 65% of the nation's wetlands are located in the Alaska covering 174 million acres, or 43%, of the State's surface area. Despite its resource potential and global position, Alaska has the most limited wetland geospatial data coverage of all states in the nation. Accurate, detailed geospatial information that meets national standards is lacking for more than half of the state, adding costs to responsible development, permitting and resource conservation decisions, delaying or preventing adequate response to natural disasters and emergencies, and preventing effective measurement and monitoring of ecological processes.

The US Fish and Wildlife Service through the National Wetland Inventory Program (NWI) has the lead Federal role for developing a statewide wetland spatial database for Alaska. NWI staff have been working closely with the Alaska GeoSpatial Council Wetlands Technical Working Group to develop a strategy for completion of a statewide wetland spatial database that is compliant with national mapping standards. The first part of this presentation will summarize efforts to date, detail the partnership strategy and discuss funding opportunities and mapping standards. In the second part of the presentation, technical details of on-going wetland mapping in Alaska will be summarized and new/emerging technologies and image sources will be discussed. The presentations be will supported by examples and graphics from current projects across the state. Tune in to learn more about how we are addressing NWI Unfinished Business through creative collaboration, interagency partnerships, cooperative funding approaches and new technologies.

Register Here


Past Webinars